top of page

[CryptTeaze Recommends] 'Ghoulish: The Art Of Gary Pullin'


"Ghoulish Gary Pullin creates monstrous artwork that has a ghastly way of capturing what lies in the dark heart of a fiend...And isn't that what we all want to see?" - Jerry Only (The Misfits)

I don't think anyone would argue with me when I say that Gary Pullin is one of the best horror artists in the biz, his fantastic work just captures and demands attention! When I found out that a book containing his art and his history as an artist was in the works, my excitement was immense!

I sit here today with the book in my hands and I couldn't be more pleased with the final product. I find myself flipping through it on a daily basis, admiring the vibrant work and reading excerpts and interviews about Pullin and his career. This book will be on my coffee table for years to come, inspiring and fascinating me every time I crack it open.

I honestly can't recommend this book enough! This 228 page, hardcover book contains some of the greatest works of horror ever created and I guarantee you won't regret picking up a copy of your own! Check out more info and images taken from the book below.

Book Synopsis: "For more than ten years artist Gary Pullin has been taking art galleries, movie theater walls, and social media by storm with his fresh, inventive takes on film, music, and television properties. Equal parts nightmare and nostalgia, his instantly recognizable style always strikes a chord with fans, and his coveted and acclaimed pieces sell out in lightning speed.

A go-to artist for official film artwork, concert merchandise, LP packaging, and endless other pieces of pop culture ephemera, Pullin has put pencil to paper for film posters such as Friday the 13th, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, The Big Lebowski, Vertigo, and The Babadook, soundtracks including Creepshow, Scream, Christine, and Tales from the Crypt, and concert merch for the likes of Jack White, Alice Cooper, and Misfits.

Featuring hundreds of full-color illustrations, lavish cover galleries, and never-before-seen concept and process shots, Ghoulish: The Art of Gary Pullin is both a celebration of one artist's remarkable career and an indispensable snapshot of the thriving world of genre art. Go behind the scenes with Gary, let your jaw drop at his brilliant, long out of print artwork, and get ghoulishly inspired by an unforgettable pop artist."

If you'd like to purchase a copy of the book that includes the Goblin: Suspiria/Dawn of the Dead Live 12" vinyl (which I highly recommend), you can do so from 1984 Publishing's web store.

If you'd like the book alone, you can grab one from Amazon.

About the author: April Snellings has somehow built a career out of her passion for spooky pop culture. (Her obsession with The Facts of Life has thus far been less productive, but she remains hopeful.) She's a writer for Rue Morgue magazine and a project editor and contributor for the popular Rue Morgue Library. In 2015, April joined the lineup of creators for the acclaimed audio drama series Tales from Beyond the Pale. In 2016, she was voted Writer of the Year in the Rondo Hatton Awards.

0 comments
bottom of page