top of page

[Review] Netflix's 'The Open House' Isn't Worth Visiting


The only thing that Netflix’s The Open House opened up for me was a door to an underwhelming movie. Don’t get me wrong, I was absolutely loving this movie until the third act. I even found myself liking it after the credits rolled. The more I picked it apart the more I thought the last half of the movie was a pile of trash.

We’re introduced to our characters that seem like your average family trying to keep their head above water. The parents are putting on a front for their child to make it seem like everything’s okay. Tragedy strikes. The rich sister offers to help the poor sister and we find ourselves in a giant mansion in the woods that is up for sale, then shit starts to get really weird.

*Spoiler alert, the third act feels like a recycled The Strangers to some extent. There were a lot of plot holes and different directions they could have taken to make this movie great, because it was until the end.

It did have a different feel to it, I loved some of the shots and the tension between the mother and son. Maybe I’m getting too critical in my old age. You be the judge.

Synopsis: The Open House centers on a teenager (Dylan Minnette) and his mother (Piercey Dalton) who find themselves besieged by threatening forces when they move into a new house.

The film was written and directed by Matt Angel and Suzanne Coote and is now available to stream on Netflix.

0 comments
bottom of page