top of page

[Review] 'Hereditary' Is A Genuine Nightmare


For those that know me, they know I don't watch trailers. For those of you that don't, now you know. (Why the fuck you would want to possibly ruin pivotal moments for yourself is beyond me). Right, so, I didn't watch the trailer. Didn't have a clue what I was getting into. And holy shit... Maybe I should have prepared myself by watching the trailer first. I'm kidding. Ironically, it's the only part of my life where I exercise restraint. What are we talking about again? Oh, right, Hereditary.

Hereditary is about a family experiencing loss and the unraveling of their minds as dark secrets begin to expose their twisted heritage. Top-notch performances by Toni Collette, Gabriel Byrne, Alex Wolff, Milly Shapiro, and Ann Down make this an uncomfortable road into madness. Couple that with expertly written ambiguousness by Ari Aster and viewers are in for some legitimate scares. Is it a haunted house film? A possession? An exorcism? Or are there an absence of questions and the film is as simple as "don't grow up in a small town with small minds because it'll fuck you up?" While you may have questions at the end, a true horror fan could give a shit if they get the answers to said questions. A true horror fan will bask in the macabre. Shower and shock therapy optional.

It's been almost a month since I have seen Hereditary and I still get rather uncomfortable thinking about it. You know it's a good horror flick if a month later you still can't shake it. The image of Toni Collette's silent screams and the sound of Milly Shapiro clicking her tounge still haunt me.

Crypt-Teaze Contributor

Sean Ellis

0 comments
bottom of page