top of page

'Bonejangles' Review - Bad to the Funny Bone


Plot Synopsis: “While transporting the legendary killer Bonejangles, a group of police break down in a town cursed with monsters, and must release him to survive.” Admittedly, this is my first time viewing anything from Wild Eye Releasing. As a huge fan of “B” movies and independent film, I was ready for a good time. From the opening, I knew this was going to be a fun movie even though I didn't have high expectations for it to be a great movie, but sometimes that's all it needs to be right? This really hit the nail for horror comedy for me. The film follows a group of cops that are tasked with transfering the murderous Bonejangles but get caught in the town of Argento that on April 18th (or the 11th), the town is overrun by zombies, thanks to a witch that cursed the town many years ago before she was burned at the stake. Bonejangles, who has Jason Voorhees/Victor Crowley like qualities, uses literally anything to kill at his disposal, which makes the killing fun and keeps you on the edge of your seat. So, the cops have to survive the night from zombies and their prisoner.

Bonejangles didn't break any rules and wasn't groundbreaking. The gore was cheap, the acting wasn't great, and I feel like I've seen this story a million times, but the chemistry between the two main police characters and their dialogue is what made this movie fun. Other characters, you didn't care if they survived or not, some you wanted to get murdered as soon as possible. I found myself laughing more than scared. There was quite a few nods to famous horror names and movies, or maybe I'm overthinking it. Nonetheless, I enjoyed this film and I can't wait to see more ridiculous stuff from Wild Eye.

0 comments
bottom of page