top of page

[Review] Rudy Riverón Sánchez's 'Is That You?' Is A Brilliant Cuban Horror Film


Rudy Riverón Sánchez's Is That You? Review

Everyone carries a secret. Sometimes these secrets bring forth dangerous consequences. What if the problem you were facing went away? Would you be relieved of would you do everything in your power to reunite your family?

Lily’s father goes missing so she takes it upon herself to find him. After performing a spiritual ritual incorrectly she gets more than she bargained for in return.

Osvaldo Doimeadiós puts on an absolutely stellar performance as Lili’s troubled father, Eduardo. I found myself feeling both intrigued and repulsed during all his scenes. Osvaldo is known for his impeccable acting skills throughout both Cuban and international films.

Lynn Cruz who plays Alina, Lili’s Mother is so convincing in her performance that I had to keep reminding myself that this is a film and not a real event. I was so impressed by her. Lynn has received critical acclaim for her performance in the film Larga Distancia.

Rudy Riverón Sánchez's Is That You? Review

Gabriela Ramos performance as Lili is incredible. She really brought her character to life which in my opinion is one of the best parts of this film. I was shocked after having discovered that she only has three acting credits to her name. Gabriella received the best supporting actress award at the 2017 Malaga Film Festival for her performance in the Fernando Perez film Ultimos Dias En La Habana.

I absolutely loved Is That You? (Cuban title ¿Eres tú, papá?) The cast is phenomenal as is the scenery and cinematography. The location that was chosen is the perfect place to tell this story.

One of my favorite parts of this movie was how the music perfectly shaped each scene. It wasn’t used as filler or to outline a jump scare. It had a true purpose and really helped tell the story as if it were its own character.

I give Is That You? a 10/10. Absolutely phenomenal job by everyone involved. I will be diving deeper into the work of director Rudy Riverón Sánchez. I really admire his style. I highly suggest this movie if you’re a fan of artistic foreign films.

Is That You? will open in Los Angeles on August 2nd at the Laemmle Music Hall and on DVD and VOD August 13th from Breaking Glass Pictures.

Rudy Riverón Sánchez's Is That You? Review

0 comments
bottom of page