top of page

[Fantasia Review] 'The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil' Is A Superior Korean Action Film


The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil Review Fantasia 2019

One gangster, one cop, one chance to get revenge. They’ll have to put their differences aside to catch "K".

After Jung Tae-Seok (Mu-Yeol Kim) notices some striking similarities between his murder case and other murders in the area he tries to connect the dots only to be denied by his Chief. Feeling trapped and running out of options he turns to gangster Jang Dong-Soo (Dong-seok Ma) for his help where the two form an unlikely partnership. Will they succeed in catching the man known simply as "K", or will he continue to haunt the streets while taking lives of unsuspecting victims?

Dong-seok Ma is a Korean actor who’s talented speaks for itself. Those of you who are familiar with Korean cinema may recognize him from the 2016 horror film Train To Busan, which is a personal favorite of mine. When I saw his name on the promotional poster for The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil, I knew I had to get my hands on this film for review. Dong-seok’s performance as gangster Jang Dong-soo is incredible. He breathes life into every character he portrays and Jang is no exception.

Mu-Yeol Kim has 12 acting credits to his name which I was astonished by. His acting style and delivery are stellar and on point in every scene. Kim’s first notable role was in the 2008 historical drama lljimae. He has been working steadily ever since.

Sung-kyu Kim who plays serial killer "K" started his acting career after starring in the 2016 action film Tunnel. Although he has only appeared in 5 films his talent will carry him a long way. His portrayal of "K" is maniacal and dark. Just the way I like it.

The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil Review Fantasia 2019

Every scene in this film is acted so beautifully it feels as though I was watching an event filmed live before my very eyes. The expressions, the body language. Everything is perfect. One of my favorite things about Korean cinema is the costumes. The costume departments are always so mindful of the characters their clothing choices are representing.

The music, the cinematography, the close ups of every scene. All immaculate. I find that I have certain expectations of Asian cinema simply because I know they will deliver. The attention to detail is great. Korean films push the envelope and go further than American cinema would ever dare to. I admit that there were a few scenes that had me looking away in disgust and I love that.

I give The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil a 10/10. I would give this film a higher score if I could. Such a brilliant film filled with so much talent. Although the main cast consists of only three actors, every single person in this film felt like they belonged.

If you enjoy Korean action films with a solid storyline and a talented cast I think you’ll really love this film. I can’t recommend it enough. The film was shown at the 2019 Fantasia Film Festival and was on a lot of people’s "must-watch" lists. I look forward to seeing more work from director Won-Tae Lee in the future.

The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil will be released on Blu-ray on October 1st from Well Go USA. Pre-order your copy today!

The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil Review Fantasia 2019

0 comments
bottom of page