top of page

[31 Days of Horror Reviews] Day Six: Josh Ruben's 'Scare Me'


Minimalism doesn’t always work well for visual storytelling, especially in a genre where only a small percentage of people are fans of “slow-burn” horror and atmosphere over spectacle.


Writer/director Josh Ruben's Scare Me, one of Shudder’s recent releases, is an exception to the rule. This is, in my opinion, the correct way to use minimalism in a horror-comedy.


Much like The Canterbury Tales, this movie involves two storytellers stuck together in a cabin during a power outage, and they pass the time by telling each other scary stories. Fred is a struggling writer who can’t seem to get a grasp on what constitutes true horror, and most of his stories are half-baked pedestrian efforts. Fanny, on the other hand, is a bestselling horror novelist as well as a super-critical nuisance. Although their companionship is tenuous and merely a product of circumstance, they have a creative chemistry that really makes the film interesting when they act out their various stories.

One of my favorite parts of this movie was Aya Cash’s performance. You’ve likely seen her as Stormfront in Amazon’s "The Boys," and she’s just as compelling to watch in Scare Me. She really knows how to make the most out of every second of screen time, and I look forward to seeing her in more movies.


My only complaint is Scare Me starts off pretty slow, and there’s not much horror going on outside of what’s in our imaginations as we listen to their stories. That’s not to say the movie’s ever boring, only that it takes a good 20 minutes to get going.


Shudder’s been pretty dependable with their original material and acquisitions, and I hope you find a place in your October viewing for Scare Me. I mean, anything that can make me forget about my existential dread for 90 minutes is worthwhile in my book.


7/10

 

Throughout the month of October, I’ll be reviewing 31 movies I’ve never seen before. Is there an excellent movie you think I haven’t seen? Tell me in the comments below, and I’ll check it out!


0 comments

留言


bottom of page