top of page

[Album Review] KILYO Makes Waves with Darkly Gorgeous Debut Album 'Harpoon'


KILYO Harpoon Ablum Review

Pulling back the curtain a bit here. I usually take what I would consider to be decent notes on every review I write. For music, it means one listen, front to back, to collect notes, and at least one more as I write the review. While I’m not breaking this trend for this review, I had a hard time collecting any significant notes. That’s not because I didn’t have anything to say. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t take the time to write a review.


With this album, KILYO’s 2016 debut effort Harpoon, I was absolutely blown away. For a debut independent record, there is so much at play, and the level of not just competence, but excellence in the production could leave one mistaking this for a major-label, bells and whistles record. On Harpoon, KILYO crafts sixteen moments of dark pop decadence, all with layers upon layers of vocals and synthpop-styled crafting. Harpoon is a cocktail of Lana Del Rey, Lady Gaga, and Depeche Mode shaken up and strained into a glass, going down smoothly across its runtime.


Normally with my music reviews, I take things track by track, breaking down the components of each song. With Harpoon, that approach isn’t getting me far. The vocals, the harmonies, the runs are downright hypnotic. Highlights of such are on tracks like “Submarine,” with the last two syllables of said title getting a fantastic vocal run, as well as on “Shake On It” and the title track.



As with a proper pop album, the hook is the key, and there are some strong hooks on display here. For one, I find myself still singing the chorus of “Everyday Jesus” several months after hearing it for the first time. “Dark Narcissus” and “Porous Beings” feature some of the stronger choruses on the album, making for earworms that will dig their way in with urgency and resolve.


This album reminds me of conversations I’ve had with some of my alternative friends. The idea is that darkness and melancholy has almost become the norm in popular culture, whereas just a couple decades ago it was strange and to be avoided. Anymore, artists like Billie Eilish, Melanie Martinez, and the aforementioned Lana Del Rey don’t just flirt with darkness, they court it regularly and call upon it frequently. As such, it becomes difficult to stand out in the black, but KILYO manages to do so handily.


And again, this album is an independent joint, a self-made passion project. The level at which he performs here on Harpoon ensures that KILYO will have a voice in the alternative pop world that demands to be heard.


Harpoon is available now for streaming and purchase.



0 comments

Comments


bottom of page