top of page

'The Witch' Director Robert Eggers' New Feature 'The Lighthouse' Has Wrapped And


Back in 2015, director Robert Eggers took the horror world by storm with the release of his directorial debut, The Witch. Now, he's reteamed with the genre production company A24 for a new feature titled The Lighthouse. We've learned that filming has now wrapped on the followup feature, which stars Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson.

The film is about an aging lighthouse keeper, named Old. It takes place in Nova Scotia in 1890. The Lighthouse was shot on 35mm black and white stock.

“That’s the closest I’ve come to punching a director,” Pattinson told Interview Magazine, talking about how torturous the filming got at times. “However much I love Robert [Eggers], there was a point where I did five takes walking across the beach, and after a while I was like, ‘What the fuck is going on? I feel like you’re just spraying a fire hose in my face.’ And he was like, ‘I am spraying a fire hose in your face.’ It was like some kind of torture. It definitely creates an interesting energy.”

0 comments
bottom of page