top of page

Tony Todd Shares His Thoughts On The Upcoming 'Candyman' Reboot


Candyman

Last week, we reported that the Jordan Peele-produced Candyman reboot had been confirmed for a 2020 release with Nia DaCosta (Little Woods) set to direct. The film is said to be a “spiritual sequel” to Bernard Rose’s original Candyman. At the moment, we have no news if Tony Todd will return as the titular character.

Though, in a recent chat with SYFY, Todd revealed his feelings on the reboot and, quite honestly, he doesn't seem opposed to returning to the role.

“I have mixed feelings because I thought they were gonna make this 15 years ago,” Todd told Syfy. “If this had been 10 years ago when I had heard news, I would have been devastated. I would have fought for it. Now I’m in a different place.”

Continuing he said, “I’ve got so many other options that even if they make it without me, which I doubt, the attention the new movie will create will lead folks back to the original [film]because people like to see the source material.”

The horror icon also spoke about what he'd like to see from the new take on the character and social relevance.

“In 2018, I think there are a few neighborhoods that could use some Candyman justice, you know what I’m saying?" He told the site. "I’m just happy that as an African-American man, that Candyman has once again been given the nod to enter people’s consciousness."

Adding, “I hope that they don’t dance around the relationship between Candyman and the love of his life, the reason for his death and that they are actually allowed to kiss. [Back then] it was rare that African-American male film stars got to kiss any of the white leading ladies they worked with. I’m just speaking my mind here.”

The new Candyman is slated for a theatrical release from Universal Pictures on June 12th, 2020, with production planned to start in the spring of 2019.

While you wait for the reboot, we recommend Scream Factory's recent Blu-ray release.

Candyman

0 comments
bottom of page