top of page

Tony Todd Is Open To Any Role In Jordan Peele's 'Candyman'


Tony Todd Is Open To Any Role In Jordan Peele's Candyman

Aside from this year's Us, Jordan Peele is producing a "Twilight Zone" series reboot as well as a new Candyman film. Of course, fans have been asking Tony Todd if he'll be involved with the franchise reboot, which is being directed by Nia DaCosta.

Recently, Bloody Disgusting were able to chat with him and it turns out that Todd is interested in being a part of the film, even if he's not cast in the titular role.

“I want to be a part of the project one way or the other,” Todd told the site. “Of course, I’d want to be a part of it. I helped create this character. I helped bring him to life so I’m sure if Boris Karloff was asked the same thing, he would say exactly what I say. I know the character inside and out.”

Being that the project is in the early development stages, Todd has not yet spoken with Peele.

“No, I haven’t talked to him yet but I know he’s a fan,” Todd said. “They’re not going to shoot until deep this year so contracts are weird. You don’t want to get into contracts too soon because then you’re locked in.”

Given the success of the first film, Todd hopes that the new Candyman will do the franchise justice since the sequels, Candyman: Farewell to the Flesh and Candyman: Day of the Dead, suffered diminishing returns.

“I know that it’s in good hands with Jordan Peele," Todd expressed. "I love his new trailer for Us and I know he loves the character and he respects the legacy. No matter what my personal involvement is, the fact that it’s getting done again will just bring new attention to the original source material. So it’s a win-win for everybody and a win-win for horror fans.”

In other Tony Todd news, Hell Fest, a film in which he has a starring role, will be released on Blu-ray and DVD on Tuesday, January 8th.

0 comments
bottom of page