top of page

Dario Argento Gives His Thoughts On The 'Suspiria' Remake


Dario Argento Gives His Thoughts On The 'Suspiria' Remake

I think most horror fans agree with me when I say Luca Guadagnino's Suspiria is one of the finest remakes of a classic horror film to date. Guadagnino turned Dario Argento's colorful original into something far differnet and original instead of striving to create an exact clone, removing the film's bright colors as well as Goblin's score.

Well it seems that Argento isn't too pleased with Guadagnino's new vision for the film. In a chat with Radio Rai 1’s Un Giorno da Pecora (via The Film Stage), Argento gave his thoughts on the remake.

“It did not excite me, it betrayed the spirit of the original film: there is no fear, there is no music. The film has not satisfied me so much,” Argento stated.

He also told the outlet, however, that Suspiria is "a refined film" and Guadagnino a "fine person."

I'll personally say that the remake doesn't "betray" the original but rather offers up a refreshing tribute. Though I can understand Argento's thoughts on the film. Having your film be remade must be a rather bitter pill to swallow.

Give us your thoughts on the matter in the comments below!

Dario Argento Gives His Thoughts On The 'Suspiria' Remake

0 comments
bottom of page