top of page

'Halloween' Remake Star Scout Taylor-Compton Is Glad 'Halloween 3' Didn't Happen


Halloween Remake Scout Taylor-Compton Glad Halloween 3 Didn't Happen

In Rob Zombie's reimagining of Halloween, Scout Taylor-Compton played the iconic role of Laurie Strode, a role she returned to for the sequel. Now that the franchise is back with Jamie Lee Curtis in the role of Michael Myers adversary, Taylor-Compton's time as Strode has come to an end.

At one time, however, Taylor-Compton and Tyler Mane, who played Myers, were approached to reprise their roles for a sequel to Halloween II.

“Rob was done after the second one,” Taylor-Compton told SYFY Wire this week. “There was a lot of stuff that was going on, and I mean, I was too young to really understand what was going on. But I do know that we were contacted. Myself and Tyler [Mane] were contacted by Dimension to do a third. They had sent a copy of the script. They didn’t have a director, but they had a tentative tape date, and that was it.”

The actress continued, “And Rob wasn’t gonna be part of it. And they pretty much cut funds in half. It was the strangest phone call I’ve ever gotten in my entire life. When I heard that Rob wasn’t gonna be a part of it, I called Tyler and I talked to him. And he said that he had gotten the same offer. We were so hesitant on doing it. And we saw the media, all the different directors that they had attached to it and all this stuff. I was indifferent with what I wanted to do; it seemed so unorganized and so up in the air. But then I was like, ‘Well, if I don’t do [the movie], they’re gonna get someone else to train what I’ve worked so hard on.'"

In hindsight, she reflects, “But I’m kinda glad that it didn’t happen, because the way that the offer came in, it was not from loving hands.”

0 comments
bottom of page