top of page

John Carpenter Expresses He'd Love To Make Another Horror Film


John Carpenter New Horror Movie

It's now been nearly a decade since John Carpenter last directed a movie, 2010's The Ward, but the master of horror has recently begun expressing a desire to get back in the director's chair for another film. And while there's currently nothing in the works, Carpenter once again expressed the very same desire in an interview with Collider this week at Cannes.

Carpenter told the outlet, "I don’t have one scheduled but I’m working on things. I made a lot of movies and I got burned out and I had to stop for a while. I have to have a life. Circumstance would have to be correct for me to do it again."

"I’d love to make a little horror film… that would be great. Or a big adventure film," he continued.

"It would be a project that I like that’s budgeted correctly. Nowadays they make these young directors do movies for $2 million when the movie is written for $10 million. So you have to squeeze it all in there and I don’t want to do that any more."

Additionally, when asked about doing a TV series, Carpenter responded: "I would do one."

0 comments
bottom of page