top of page

Gary Dauberman Has Departed Paramount's 'Are You Afraid Of The Dark?' Movie


Gary Dauberman Departs Are You Afraid of The Dark Movie

Originally set to release this October, Paramount’s Are You Afraid of the Dark? movie was completely removed from the release schedule back in February, leading us to worry about the film's future. Well, in a chat with Slash Film this week, writer Gary Dauberman (IT, The Nun) reveals that it hasn't even begun filming and that he's no longer involved with the project...

"No, that actually hasn’t shot yet," Dauberman told the site. "That’s one of those things I’m no longer a part of. I just had a different vision to make it and thought it best to part ways."

Adding, "It’s unfortunate but as you said, that’s sometimes how it goes."

Dauberman explained his vision to Slash Film back in September of last year, "It is a completely original story I came up with, but it still has the Midnight Society and it still has the campfire. That show is so important to me. I didn’t want to age it down too much because for it’s time, it had some really disturbing episodes and some really dark episodes. Not every story the Midnight Society told ended with happily ever after or a person learning their lesson and it will never happen again. I really embraced that side of things and I think it’s been a long time. I think fear is healthy for kids. I don’t think we have to always sand down the edges of things and that’s something I really wanted to do with Are You Afraid of the Dark. I think it is scary and I think kids will be scared watching it at times, and also they’ll laugh at times. I think it’s got a great message. I think it’s got a great heart to it but it is still scary. I think that’s great. I think it’s going to open it up to a wider audience."

Back when the project was announced, Dauberman told THR, "We’re going to celebrate [the spirit of the show] with this movie and honor the darker, scarier tone of the show."

Last we heard, D.J. Caruso (Disturbia, The Disappointments Room, xXx: Return of Xander Cage) was on board to direct, but at this point we have no idea if he's even attached or if the film is even happening.

The original '90s show revolved around a group of teenagers who referred to themselves as The Midnight Society. Every week, at a secret location in the woods, one members would tell a scary story to the rest of the group, some of which were based on public domain fairy tales, short stories or urban legends.

Gary Dauberman Departs Are You Afraid of The Dark Movie

0 comments
bottom of page