top of page

James Wan Says His Next Horror Film Is An "Original Idea" With "Old School, Practical


James Wan New Horror Original Practical Effects

You had me at old school, practical effects Mr. Wan.

As we told you last week, the next film that James Wan will direct is a new horror movie for New Line, and no, it’s not secretly a new Nightmare on Elm Street, despite the rumors that swept the web over the weekend.

Wan teased the project on Facebook, "There’s been a bit of speculation as to what my next project is… all I’ll say is, I’m super excited to go back to my indie roots with this hard-R thriller. An original horror idea (not a reboot/remake or anything based on existing IP) with old school, practical effects and no giant, blue screen sets."

"That’s all I’ll say for now," Wan added, while also sharing a series of photos taken during the location scout for the film.

Wan will co-write the screenplay with Ingrid Bisu (who appeared in The Nun as Sister Oana), and produce through the Atomic Monster banner with Michael Clear. The film is expected to shoot in LA this coming fall.

The last horror film Wan directed was The Conjuring 2 back in 2016.

0 comments
bottom of page