top of page

Paul Feig Has Finished The First Draft For His Universal Monsters Movie 'Dark Army'


Paul Feig Dark Arm Script Complete

It was revealed back in September that Paul Feig (Ghostbusters [2016], The Heat) had teamed up with Universal Studios to write and direct an original film titled Dark Army, a new project stemming from Universal's now-defunct Dark Universe that's said to feature characters from Universal’s classic monster library, as well as original characters created by Feig. In a recent chat with Coming Soon, Feig revealed the first draft of the film's script has been complete and that he has a"James Whale-ish" vision for his new film.

"I’m a mega-fan of those old horror movies," Feig told the site. "Bride of Frankenstein is probably one of the greatest movies of all-time. I love that movie so much, and there are some things from that movie that I’m using in this new movie Dark Army. But I really want to do a James Whale-ish, modern day version of a monster movie that is about these characters. I want to bring that ookie spookie feel back to movies, but with these monsters you root for and understand at the same time."

Feig added, "I finished the first draft of the script and I’m so excited about it! I’m literally on fire about getting this movie made as soon as I can. I turned it into the Dark Universe people last week and they loved it. Now it’s going over to the heads of Universal, so we’ll see."

For those who don't know, Whale was one of the biggest directors during Universal's classic monster era, creating films like Frankenstein, The Old Dark House, The Invisible Man and Bride of Frankenstein.

Stay tuned for more updates!

0 comments
bottom of page