top of page

Neve Campbell Confirms She Won't Be Returning for 'Scream 6'


After multiple rumors began swirling around the web earlier this year, actress Neve Campbell has now officially confirmed she won't be returning as Sidney Prescott for the upcoming sixth film in the Scream franchise.


Campbell tells Deadline this afternoon, "Sadly, I won’t be making the next Scream film."


She continues, "As a woman I have had to work extremely hard in my career to establish my value, especially when it comes to Scream. I felt the offer that was presented to me did not equate to the value I have brought to the franchise."


"It’s been a very difficult decision to move on. To all my Scream fans, I love you. You’ve always been so incredibly supportive to me. I’m forever grateful to you and to what this franchise has given me over the past 25 years," adds Campbell.


This means the new Scream will be the very first film in the series to not feature the franchise's main heroine. And while Neve Campbell won't be returning, it was recently announced that Hayden Panettiere will be reprising her Scream 4 role as fan-favorite character Kirby Reed.


Panettiere will join returning cast members Melissa Barrera ("Sam"), Jasmin Savoy Brown ("Mindy"), Mason Gooding ("Chad"), and Jenna Ortega ("Tara").


In the new film from Spyglass Media and Paramount Pictures, the Scream saga continues with the four survivors of the Ghostface killings as they leave Woodsboro behind and start a fresh chapter.


At the helm are Radio Silence’s Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett (Scream, Ready or Not), with James Vanderbilt (Scream, Murder Mystery), Guy Busick (Scream, Ready or Not) co-writing the screenplay.


Project X Entertainment's Vanderbilt, Paul Neinstein and William Sherak are serving as producers (Scream, Ambulance).


Creator Kevin Williamson and the third member of Radio Silence, Chad Villella, are executive producing alongside Spyglass’ Gary Barber and Peter Oillataguerre, Ron Lynch, Cathy Konrad and Marianne Maddalena.


Principal photography is slated to start this summer, and fans can expect the sixth Scream to release in theatres worldwide on March 31st, 2023.


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page